He’s Got it Covered

This week my mum and I took on the challenge of painting my bedroom in our holiday house in Bushmills. Originally the walls were painted bright pink and purple, looking back it wasn’t the best decision-but hey we all make mistakes. At long last my sister and I decided we wanted a change and we opted for the mature (and slightly boring) colour, cream. The room eventually will hopefully have a vintage theme, but for now it’s a bit of a mess to say the least.

Over the duration of two days we painted the wall with three coats of cream paint and the pink and purple is still shining through. At certain points I thought we were never going to get rid of the bright pink and purple, however I am now hopeful that with one more coat the pink and purple walls will only be a distant memory.

This got me thinking about our lives and our sins. Sometimes I find myself thinking about something I’ve done and it’s hard to forgive myself so I try to forget about it. But somehow, just like the pink and purple paint, it lingers in the back of my mind. When this happens it’s hard to comprehend how anyone could forgive you and it’s even harder to move on from it.

But the great thing is, God isn’t like the cream paint that didn’t completely cover the previous colours. All we have to do is ask for forgiveness and he covers our sins and transforms us. This way it is so much easier to move on knowing we have been made clean, that we have been given yet another chance. Of course, we still need to have integrity, we can’t use God’s grace and forgiveness as an excuse to do whatever we want.

Isaiah 1:18 speaks beautifully of how God forgives,  “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool. “

It’s so great knowing that no sin is too big or too small for God to forgive. He paints over our sins, so we no longer have to worry about them. Jesus already died for all our sins even before we had sinned. Amazing.

Just remember, once we’ve asked for forgiveness God has got it covered.

2 thoughts on “He’s Got it Covered

  1. Have been reading your posts Rachel……you are an inspiration to others, someone who has a big heart for God and a willingness to share your love for him, I believe God has great plans for your life, and for me it is a real delight to know you as a person, as someone who really loves the Lord. May His presence be ever felt in your life and may He lead you to whatever He has planned for you Ann xx

Leave a Reply

